What do you do?


“What do you do?” 

Likely the most dreaded question for any stay at home parent. What people are really asking is, “What do you do for money?” For this I have no answer.

Currently I don’t make money, my job is to save money. Finding the cheapest, most efficient ways for everything. Am I amazing at this? Hardly. Am I a couponer? Not so much. Most of the time though we do okay.

Have I wanted to go back to work? Sure. My husband and I both agree that me being here with the kids top priority. I believe that YOU are the best qualified person to care for your children during the early years. This time is irreplaceable.

For the last three years we have homeschooled. This year my oldest is giving public school a shot, his choice. My youngest is in a place somewhere between preschool and kindergarten.

We “do school” together. Working on learning to read and beginning math. What she is most interested in now though is what I do with my time. She wants to sit and watch my words appear on the screen when I write. She wants to sit on the counter while I cook and do dishes. She wants to learn how to be a big girl. This is where things start getting tricky.

So what is it that you do? I lead by example…and I pray a lot.

whatdoyoudo

Leave a Reply

