State of the Empire


August was an interesting month.

We started out with attending a rad birthday party and taking home a goodie bag of pink eye and some crazy doom virus.

We spent time tip-toeing around the house as to not wake the current super sick crabby family member.

By the end of the month we were all kinda climbing the walls and trying not to punch each other in the face. Well except for Lilly… I’m pretty sure she punched someone at some point.

Half way through the month the boy decided he wanted to attend the Parent Partnership he attended in Kindergarten.

Hey! Wait just a minute! I had finished our educational plan all super amazingly early this year. Making this change would mean changing curriculum, reorganizing our ‘schedule’ and writing a brand new student learning plan.

Following his lead with this one is precisely what our homeschooling style would lead us to do as with any other educational interest. Why was partial public school, something we had done successfully not two years before, so difficult for me?

Using a parent partnership isn’t my ideal homeschool situation.  I personally would enjoy to curl up, tucked away in the corner of some historic library. Solace within silence.

The boy enjoys interactions. It’s that whole introvert/extrovert thing. He wants to get up and share his thoughts and theories with others. He recharges by being around others. Gathering new ideas and hearing opposing opinions.  I’ll never fully get it, but I’m sure as heck going to support it and watch it flourish.

After a few nights of obsessive planning…checking and rechecking. Swaying between feelings of doubt, fear and total satisfaction I some how found a balance in between and called it complete.

I am looking forward to another glorious year of learning with my children. Exploring their interests, getting my hands dirty and saying , “I don’t know. Let’s find out together.” 

It’s a glorious thing watching your babies turn into intelligent, strongly opinionated people. I just never imagined I’d be seeing such wisdom this early.

What would be your ideal learning environment?

Leave a Reply

